Poetry Chapbook Contest

2024 Guidelines

The third annual Wolfson Poetry Chapbook Prize is an award for a chapbook-length manuscript (maximum 40 pages, minimum 25 pages) of original poems in English with a submission fee of $15.00. The winning poet receives $500 in prize money, plus 50 copies. Winning manuscripts will be published by Wolfson Press, a nonprofit organization belonging to Indiana University South Bend. Although the contest judge selects only one winner annually, we may offer to publish a small number of select finalists in addition to the prize winner. The contest judge is Nancy Botkin, author (most recently) of The Next Infinity (Broadstone Books 2019) and The Honeycomb. (Winner of the Steel Toe Books 2022 Chapbook Award). Previous winners are Steven OstrowskiRenee Agatep, and Triin Paja. Finalists whose chapbooks we published include John Surowiecki and Jim Daniels.


  • The contest opens September 28, 2023.
  • The submissions window closes March 18, 2024.
  • Results will be announced in July 2024.
  • The winning manuscript will be published in 2025.


Eligibility Requirements

  • Persons eligible: Authors writing in English, regardless of nationality, residence, or publication history may submit to the competition. 
  • Persons not eligible: In keeping with well-established ethical standards, no current or former Wolfson Press staff member, board member, or volunteer may enter the competition. Also ineligible are former or current Indiana University students and employees, friends and family of the director of the press, and friends, family, and former students of the contest judge.
  • Young and early-career poets are encouraged to participate in the competition. The contest isn’t designed with any particular type of poet or style of poetry in mind.
  • Only previously unpublished collections are eligible, but individual works within the larger manuscript may have been published previously in magazines.
  • Although previous publication of individual poems in anthologies is fine, no poem shall have appeared in an author’s previous (including self-published) book or pamphlet. (Please query if you have doubts: wolfson@iusb.edu .)

Privacy and Anti-Discrimination Statement

  • Wolfson Press will use your contact information to stay in touch with you on matters regarding the competition and its publishing activities. Your information will not be sold or passed on to any other individual, business, entity, or agency.
  • Wolfson Press does not discriminate on the basis of race, age, color, religion, national origin or ancestry, sex, gender, disability, veteran status, genetic information, sexual orientation, or gender identity or expression.

[Note: for the 42 Miles Press Poetry Award, click here.]

Previous prize-winning volumes include:

Persons of Interest by Steven Ostrowski
Ohio Radio by Renee Agatep
Sleeping in a Field by Triin Paja (forthcoming)

2023 Finalists and Semifinalists

2022 Finalists and Semifinalists

2021 Finalists and Semifinalists