Wolfson Prose Prize

The Wolfson Prose Prize is an annual award for a manuscript in fiction and creative nonfiction. Eligible manuscripts include short novels, novellas, story collections, non-academic essay collections, memoirs, and creative nonfiction of 25,000-60,000 words. A $25.00 submission fee is required. Winning manuscripts will be published by Wolfson Press. Although the contest judge selects only one annual winner, we may offer to publish up to two additional manuscripts among the remaining finalists. The 2023 contest judge is Kelcey Ervick.

The 2022 winner was Katharine Haake, whose memoir will be published in 2024. Finalists Rita Ciresi (novella) and Doug Ramspeck (stories) will also be published in 2024.

2023 Schedule

The competition opened on July 1, 2023.

The deadline for submissions is Sunday, December 31, 2023.

Results will be announced by summer 2024.

Manuscript Submission Guidelines

· Submissions are limited to American authors writing in English. The prize-winning book will become a volume in our American Storytellers series.

· Length: 25,000-60,000 words.

· All manuscripts must be submitted online through Submittable.

· There is a required $25.00 contest fee.

· Prior publication of individual stories or essays is acceptable as long as the whole collection has not been published together. The same is the case for novellas and long essays: prior publication of excerpts is permitted. Essays and stories must not have appeared in a single-author book. A story or essay that has been included in an anthology of work by multiple authors is acceptable. (Feel free to inquire if you are uncertain.)

· You may submit more than one manuscript, but each manuscript must be submitted separately and accompanied by a separate contest fee.

· The manuscript must be original in English (no translations).

· Manuscripts should be either fiction or nonfiction (no mixed-genre collections).

Privacy and Anti-Discrimination Statement

  • Wolfson Press will use your contact information to stay in touch with you on matters regarding the competition and its publishing activities. Your information will not be sold or passed on to any other individual, business, entity, or agency.
  • Wolfson Press does not discriminate on the basis of race, age, color, religion, national origin or ancestry, sex, gender, disability, veteran status, genetic information, sexual orientation, or gender identity or expression.

2022 Winner: Katharine Haake
2022 Finalists